What I’ve Learned from Disney Princesses

Recently, I rewatched four Disney Princesses’ movies. I’m not talking about the new movies like Frozen, etc. I’m talking about the old ones, the one we grew up with. Yes! I’m talking about Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, Sleeping Beauty, The Little Mermaid and Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. Emoticon I know that these movies have been wildly condemned for diminishing women and all that. So I’ve decided to watch it again to validate those remarks.

And I’ve to admit, there are things in those movies that I don’t agree with. But I tried to find a few positive things that I never paid attention to when I was a kid. Emoticon

1. CINDERELLA

Cinderella 1

The movie I like the most out of the five is Cinderella.  Well,  it actually ties with Beauty and the Beast and I think I prefer this one.

As a kid, I didn’t relate to how hard it was for her to wake up in the morning.

tumblr_m3jk05ZQr51qf5smno1_400 (1)

I mean, what kind of kid hates waking up in the morning. They get to watch cartoons and play around. So I honestly didn’t remember this part at all.

Cinderella 4

But watching it again as a young adult/teenager, I somehow understand her feelings and it made me feel normal knowing that even Disney Princesses have a hard time waking up in the morning.

Cinderella 0

Another thing I like about Cinderella is the song. Out of all the other songs in other movies, I find this song (A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes) most inspiring.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tjIssqHQJ6o

Disney Channel Circle of Stars even produce a remake of this song. You should check it out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZrr2r67bwo

Cinderella 5
Cinderella talking about Lucifer (the evil cat)

And the last thing I admire about Cinderella is how she always see goodness in others, or at least tried to. Hehe

2. Beauty and the Beast

Beauty and the Beast 0

My second favourite is Beauty and the Beast, or Belle specifically.

Belle vs Miranda Kerr
Belle vs Miranda Kerr

Btw, I think Belle looked a lot like Miranda Kerr. Smiley

Beauty and the Beast 2

The first thing I like about Belle is her love for books.

Beauty and the Beast 3

I love how she ignores what people say about her and focus on reading instead.

th

Beauty and the Beast 12

Beauty and the Beast 4

And her father is an inventor/genius. No wonder she has that much curiosity about the world. Like father like daughter. Haha

Beauty and the Beast 6

And I applaud her bravery for running away from the beast. Even though her attempt failed. But she did show the courage to run away.

belle vs beast

I also like how she fought back when the beast yelled at her.

th (2)

th (1)

3.  Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

Snow White 0

I have to admit. I don’t really like the remaining three ; Snow White, Princess Aurora and Ariel. I feel like on top of being extremely childish and immature, they are too bubbly and happy  and it is almost impossible for a person to be THAT positive. Emoticon

Snow White 1

But looking on the bright side, I really like how Snow White apologised for over-reacting. Well, her stepmother wants her dead and she’s left in the woods all alone. Maybe she deserves to over-react. But the fact that she was actually embarrassed for making a fuss is admirable.

classic-cute-disney-quote-snow-white-Favim.com-224323

Snow White 2

I don’t like how she blames mothers, or in other words females, for leaving the house messy. But we have to give her credits for trying to be understanding for the dwarves.

memes_mainstream_snow_white-s500x467-141515
This is funny. ^.^

4. Sleeping Beauty

Sleeping Beauty 0

The fourth Princess is Princess Aurora.

Sleeping Beauty 1

I don’t really like her. Yeah she’s pretty. But I don’t think she stands out in comparison to the other Princesses.

Sleeping Beauty 5

I mean, who would cry for a guy they’ve just met.

Sleeping Beauty 6

And her sadness makes her vulnerable to Maleficent’s spell.

But I like how Flora and Fauna tried to do something they’ve never done ; cooking and sewing.

Sleeping Beauty 4

Sleeping Beauty 3

1107

And they refrained themselves from using magic to get things done. thumbs up *standing ovation*

funny-sleeping-beauty-disney-princess-15639064-400-300

5. The Little Mermaid

The Little Mermaid 0

My least favorite Disney Princess is Ariel.

She’s stubborn and reckless.

The Little Mermaid 2

I don’t agree with most of the things she said to her father. Especially this one.

The Little Mermaid 1

But I admire her bravery…

The Little Mermaid 3

…and her curiosity.

But I think, correct me if I’m wrong, her character is to teach children a lesson. About how their reckless behavior might backfire. Just saying. it wasn't me

And with that I’ll end my post. high five

Leave a Reply

