E-books vs Paperbacks

I’ve been reading e-books for quite sometime now. N I really like it. I recently talked to a few people about e-books. N I realized that most people are still a bit skeptical about it. So I thought, why don’t I just do a blog post about it.

This isn’t going to be a showdown between e-books and paperbacks. I’m not gonna say “This one is better” and “That one sucks”. I love both. This is just me telling u what i think about e-books so u will be more open to trying it.

These are some of the reasons people have been telling me as to why they are not interested in reading e-books:

1. Prolonged reading on the screen.

2. Difficulty in navigation.

Well the first statement is partially true. Most people refuse to read e-books because they do not really like the idea of staring at a tiny little screen for a long time. Yes it can be difficult to read depending on what device you are using. If you are using phones with very small screens then yes it might be a little difficult. But if you have phones with bigger screens it wouldn’t be a problem. But Ipads and tablets would definitely be the easiest to use. I f you are afraid of straining your eyes and getting headache for staring at the screen, you can reduce the brightness of your screen. I think most e-book reader will automatically reduce the screen’s brightness so you wouldn’t hurt your eyes. It will also help your battery to last longer.

However, I do not agree with the second statement. Some people have this perception that e-books are like online articles where u’ll have to keep scrolling down to continue reading. No it is not. E-books r just like paperbacks. They are presented in the form of pages and you just need to flip through to continue reading. And when you re-open the book, it will automatically go to the last page you read. Just like a book.

I like e-books for two reasons.

1. It’s more convenient.

Why? Because sometimes books can be a lil bulky for you to carry around with you all the time. Sometimes I would tell myself that I’m just gonna pick up my sister, it’s not gonna take a long time & BAM! she had to go and do some other stuff and I don’t wanna drive all the way back home just to come back again later. So I have to wait for her and I have absolutely nothing to read. The horror!

abd054c698362272fa6681f185633020

That is how I first get so obsessed with e-books. E-books are stored in your phones, or my phone at least. So I could carry 100 books with me and not feel a thing.

Plus, it is also very useful when you wanna read while you’re eating. If you’re like me and you like to read while you are eating, or you like to eat while you are reading, you will know how tedious it can be. You have to be super careful to not stain your books or spill anything on it. But with e-books, you still have to be careful. Obviously you can’t just pour your drinks on your phone. But you don’t really have to worry about trying to hold the book and risking getting the book dirty.

2. Wide range of books to choose from.

This is the worst problem I face for living in Malaysia. Sometimes i can’t find the books that I wanna read from local bookstores. I don’t buy books online because of the shipping and stuff. It would make the books crazy expensive. E-books are a good alternative for that. I can easily find the book that I wanna read w/out having to search high and low for it. And I don’t have to leave my room. Muahahahahaha

I’ve been using this e-book reader called Aldiko to read all of my e-books. There are other readers that you can use but I just use this one because, well why not. The interface is pretty good and it’s free.

Screenshot_2014-06-20-17-05-25

What I usually do is I would search for the books that I wanna read, download it and save it into my phone (http://www.epubbooks.com/) . When you open the file in your phone, it will ask you which app would you like to use to read the file. And you can just choose whatever reader you’ve installed in your phone.

Then your e-books will be arranged in Aldiko in something like a bookshelf. All of your e-books will be displayed here so you can just pick which book you wanna read.

 Screenshot_2014-06-20-17-05-31

 This is basically how your e-books would look like. In this picture, I increased my screen brightness. But Aldiko would usually dim my screen automatically.Screenshot_2014-06-20-17-05-48

You can also change the background and text colour to white on black if you don’t like black on white.

Screenshot_2014-06-20-17-06-04

Like I said e-books are arranged in pages just like paperbacks and other normal books. You can just tap on your screen to display the pages.

 Screenshot_2014-06-20-17-05-55

So, like I said, I’m not trying to say e-books are better than paperbacks. I appreciate paperbacks just as much as I love e-books. Paperbacks are great, the smell, the feeling of holding them and you get to collect and display them in your bookshelves bookshelves. But e-books are fun too! So, you should definitely give it a try.

3 thoughts on “E-books vs Paperbacks

Leave a Reply

